top of page

The Failed Apprentice
The First Book in the Will Patten Series
Available now on Amazon

The story of an unassuming man who gets swept up in the intrigue of the Tudor court during the early years of Henry VIII.

Also available on Amazon, now an international bestseller!


Left for dead amid a town set aflame, 14th-century squire Thomas Gray rises from the ashes to become one of England’s most feared and respected knights. Son of a bullying father, husband to a stranger, witness to the brutality on both the battlefield and gallows, Thomas Gray must confront his own demons and those of his country during the turbulent First War of Scottish Independence.

Drawn on historical accounts, A Knight's Duty is the story of a man of his time: a knight, a husband, a father, a friend.

Notebook and Pen


wsmall photo.jpg

W. J. Small is a runner, dog lover, and avid historian, focusing on late medieval Britain. 

When not enmeshed in the past, she splits her time between New York and South Carolina, where she lives with her husband, son, and two Jack Russell terriers.

bottom of page